Fourth time fortunate for Kookaburra Ockenden?

2021-06-14 09:28:05

Kookaburras co-captain Eddie Ockenden will be a part of hockey greats corresponding to Rechelle Hawkes, Jamie Dwyer, and Mark Knowles after being named for his fourth Olympic Video games.

The 16-man squad for Tokyo was named on Monday, with 9 gamers to make their Olympic debut.

Six gamers will function of their second Video games, with Ockenden by far probably the most skilled participant within the squad after taking part in Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016.

Ockenden made his Kookaburras debut in 2006 – two years after the crew gained its one and solely Olympic gold medal.

The 34-year-old has since gone on to amass 370 worldwide caps, and he’s determined to snare an elusive Olympic gold medal.

“It is particular and humbling to hitch these nice hockey gamers who’ve represented Australia at 4 Olympics,” Ockenden mentioned.

“It does not really feel prefer it’s my fourth – I am nonetheless excited to make it and excited concerning the problem and alternative forward.

“We’ve got a very sturdy squad – some actually good gamers missed out on choice so our depth is large within the Kookaburras for the time being.

“We have got a very good mixture of expertise and a few nice younger guys coming by way of with loads of enthusiasm, so we’ll be assured – we simply have to verify we’re enjoying our greatest once we recover from there and when it will get to crunch time.”

The Kookaburras are at present ranked No.1 on the earth, however they’ll face a stiff problem from the likes of Belgium, the Netherlands, India, and Germany in Tokyo.

Their first match will likely be towards host nation Japan, who’re ranked fifteenth.

“Being at our greatest once we should be is what it is all about,” Kookaburras coach Colin Batch mentioned.

“Our first intention is to qualify for the quarter-finals and we can’t underestimate that.

“We come up towards a decided host nation first up who will likely be properly acclimatised and really desperate to carry out properly in entrance of their house crowd, so every match generates a distinct set of circumstances. We’re not wanting too far previous that first match towards Japan.”

The Kookaburras lately swept world No.8 New Zealand 4-0 on enemy territory in a promising signal forward of the Olympics.

Kookaburras squad: Daniel Beale, Tim Model, Andrew Constitution, Tom Craig, Matthew Dawson, Blake Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Dylan Martin, Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Lachlan Sharp, Joshua Simmonds, Jake Whetton, Aran Zalewski.

#Fourth #time #fortunate #Kookaburra #Ockenden

Supply by []